A Nintendo community
for the fans, by the fans!
 Go to forum index
REVIEW-A-THON 2013 (Review Competition) Winner Announcement
March 10, 2014, 04:14:11
Hey, sorry about the long delay, things have been nuts with me starting a new job, blah blah blah. Anyway, it's time to announce some winners and hand out some prizes!

First up, and definitely not a surprise to anyone who followed the poll, the official winner of the 2013 Review-A-Thon as chosen by the members of Negative World is none other than our podcast host and esteemed editor DrFinkelstein for his decidedly epic review of Animal Crossing: New Leaf for the Nintendo 3DS. Fink's love for the game was clear in every word of his unconventional yet very well written review.

And then we have the Zero pick. Once again you made it difficult for me, there were way too many great reviews to choose from. In the end though, I had to go with kriswright's review of Babysitting Mama for the Nintendo Wii. Yep, you heard me right, Babysitting Mama. Kris' review made me laugh, it made me cry, and to quote one of my favorite movies that next to no one has seen... it almost makes me want to drink the crap. Um, I'm speaking metaphorically about buying the game here, not anything to do with dirty diapers.

Congratulations to our winners and everyone who participated. Tons of great reviews in the competition!

The prizes are... well, we have to figure that out, due to Nintendo not having an easy way to gift games digitally. I'm thinking something like you each pick out a $10 to ummmmm $20ish Nintendo-related game or item on Amazon and I'll ship it directly to you? Does that work?

URL to share this content (right click and copy link)
Posted: 03/10/14, 04:14:11  - Edited by 
 on: 03/10/14, 04:19:53    
Why not sign up for a (free) account and create your own content?
Awesome! Congrats to both winners for a couple of great reviews.

Posted by 
 on: 03/10/14, 04:48:02
Congratulations to Kris for the coveted Zero's Choice! As for myself, I am incredibly honored. Thank you to anyone who voted for me but also thank you for anyone who voted at all and who wrote in this year's competition. This is a great thing for the site in my opinion and I'm delighted how it turned out.

As for the prize Andrew... I'll take a gander sometime soon and let you know.

Posted by 
 on: 03/10/14, 05:09:58
Congrats to the winners!

Posted by 
 on: 03/10/14, 08:05:59
Well done, Fink & Kris.

This was fun.

Posted by 
 on: 03/10/14, 09:30:08
Great job guys. Here's to hoping for another fantastic competition this year.

Posted by 
 on: 03/10/14, 14:15:31
Well deserved guys! Congrats and thank you for the contributions.

Posted by 
 on: 03/10/14, 14:32:57
Congrats guys! I didn't stand a chance. Really well done.

Posted by 
 on: 03/10/14, 15:26:25
Congratulations for the winners! This was a really well-written batch of reviews, keep up the good work!

Posted by 
 on: 03/10/14, 19:10:10
Congratulations, duuudes.

Posted by 
 on: 03/10/14, 22:58:15
Hey, awesome. There weren't as many entries as I think a lot of us expected, but the quality was pretty consistent across the board. So it's great to walk away with second place and the Miss Congeniality prize. I could have lost to anyone in the finals and been ok with it.

Except Fink. I don't see what ya'll see in that guy. Gah.

Hey, I just realized I don't have a copy of Super Luigi U. Want to hook a brother up, Zero? There's a used copy on Amazon now for less than 20 bucks. That'd be alright with me.

Posted by 
 on: 03/11/14, 01:23:54  - Edited by 
 on: 03/11/14, 01:30:40
One might say the Zero's choice is as equally prestigious of an award as the voter's choice. One might even say that it is more prestigious, but that one would probably be Zero himself, and who cares about what that dude says?

Oh and um... if I'm just going to ship prizes directly to you, you will have to PM me addresses.

Posted by 
 on: 03/11/14, 02:46:54

I have a deal with the mailman. Just put "give to Kris" on the package and it'll get to me.

Posted by 
 on: 03/11/14, 03:56:12
Kris' prize should be on the way, Fink we still need you to pick something!

Posted by 
 on: 03/13/14, 17:47:25

I've been browsing but its harder than it looks!

I'll pick something out by this weekend.

Posted by 
 on: 03/13/14, 20:35:05
Damn. That came fast. You my hero, Zero!

Posted by 
 on: 03/15/14, 00:35:42

Posted by 
 on: 03/15/14, 02:44:51
Alright! I've finally found what I would like! I PMd it to you.

Posted by 
 on: 03/16/14, 05:34:30
Ok both prizes sent.

Hopefully we'll see some pictures of the winners + prizes?

Posted by 
 on: 03/17/14, 06:17:47

That can be arranged I'm sure.

Posted by 
 on: 03/17/14, 13:01:03
I received my prize today! I will take a photo with it sometime but I've got a lot of packing to do tonight. Thanks again to everyone and Zero!

Posted by 
 on: 03/20/14, 01:46:36
Browse    1