A Nintendo community
for the fans, by the fans!
 Go to forum index
The House of the Dead: Overkill (Nintendo Wii) Review
Review by 
8.03/10 from 18 user ratings
 
Holy fuck is this game good. I can't believe I waited so long to finally pick it up and play it.

If you want a better understanding of Overkill, well, here you go:

(oh-ver-kil)
n.
1. Destructive nuclear capacity exceeding the amount needed to destroy an enemy.
2. Excessive killing.
3. An excess of what is necessary or appropriate for a particular end

Anyway, in this motherfucking game you shoot zombies. Oh wait, it's key to never use the Z word. I'll call them un-dead from now on. Anyway, you shoot those bastards light-gun style. A headshot makes them explode. Arms makes them 50% dead. Legs slows them down, but doesn't kill them. Stomach's good depending on how much of a fatass the un-dead is. Nuts is ineffective.


You play as Agent G. If you're wondering what that motherfucking G stands for, well ... it's top secret. Sorry. You're joined by Isaac Washington. Mess with him, and he'll rip your motherfucking balls off. You'll also come across Varla Guns, a gun-totting hottie who's out for revenge because of her dead brother or some shit. But, wait, Varla Guns? What the fuck kind of name is that?

You've got a variety of levels, each is made to look and feel like a shitty horror movie. With a poster, and a retarded narrator to boot. For instance, Ballistic Trauma, is a level/movie where you shoot un-dead doctors and patients in a hospital. You're gonna be amputating some motherfucking heads. I guess that makes you a doctor?


You start off with your regular pistol, but you've got plenty of weapons to unlock. Everything from a machine gun, a shotgun, you know, classic stuff. You've got infinite bullets for all of them. You can go with two weapons into a level and switch between them. Shoot with B, reload by waggle. Very intuitive.

At the end of every movie you've got a crazy ass son of a bitch boss to fight. The strategy to defeating them is always figuring out their weak spot (which is shown to you before and during the fight) and shooting the shit out of them.



Overkill's pretty short, but it's great for multiple play-throughs. I personally don't regret buying it. If you generally don't enjoy these types of games, then it's a rent. But everyone should experience this bitch. You're playing alone, it's very likely you'll have fun. You're playing with a friend, it's 100% guaranteed.

You might say, the graphics are bad. Well, fuck you.

EDIT: Oh, I should also note, if you want, instead of playing with a friend, you can go dual-wielding style, bitches.

I wanted this review to kind of give the feel you're gonna get while playing the game

URL to share this content (right click and copy link)
      
Posted: 08/31/10, 21:30:08  - Edited by 
 on: 02/22/11, 04:58:44    
 
Why not sign up for a (free) account and create your own content?
 
GelatinousEncore said:
I wanted this review to kind of give the feel you're gonna get while playing the game
I got the idea.

This review arrives at the right time since I broke something in my left hand and plan to catch up on these light-gun games. You don't need the Nunchuck, right?

Am I mistaken or is the Nunchuck required for both RE Darkside Chronicles and DS Extraction?


Posted by 
 on: 08/31/10, 21:36:10
You don't need the nunchuck at all for this game. Not sure about those others you mentioned, though.


Posted by 
 on: 08/31/10, 21:37:23
GelatinousEncore said:
Nuts is ineffective.

Best quote from any review I've ever read.


Posted by 
 on: 08/31/10, 22:07:02
Awesome review

This is the best light-gun shooter on the Wii. The presentation especially, is motherfucking win. My only complaint would be that it's too easy, but if you're going for high scores and unlockables this indirectly makes the game tougher.


Posted by 
 on: 08/31/10, 22:34:47
Zero said:
GelatinousEncore said:
Nuts is ineffective.

Best quote from any review I've ever read.
lol, seriously though after playing this game for like 5 minutes you must've tried to shoot the zombies in the nuts ... the manual tells you, "they don't feel anything there"


Posted by 
 on: 09/01/10, 01:03:58
Nice review. I should pull it out of the stack and open it up. I SHOULD, but...


Posted by 
 on: 09/01/10, 17:21:47
anandxxx said:
Nice review. I should pull it out of the stack and open it up. I SHOULD, but...
Shit man, that ain't right. Quit being a pussy.


Posted by 
 on: 09/01/10, 19:15:48
I had fun with the game, but I wouldn't rate it quite as highly.

The story and presentation are (largely) top notch, but there are a few things that stopped it from being great.

- Multiplayer made the game way too easy.
- The bosses were largely unimaginative.
- The jarring slowdown between scenes messed with the aiming.
- Weapons didn't have balance, and quickly became overpowered.

I would give it a 7 out of muthafuckin 10


Posted by 
 on: 09/01/10, 19:29:21
Can no one answer my question?


Posted by 
 on: 09/01/10, 19:34:50
Pandareus said:
Can no one answer my question?
Not required, but useful for changing weapons with nunchuck as opposed to d-pad.


Posted by 
 on: 09/01/10, 19:36:28
Oops, I meant the second question!


Posted by 
 on: 09/01/10, 19:42:47
@Pandareus
It's required for Extraction, but not Umbrella Chronicles. Not sure about Darkside Chronicles, I rented it and played it with the chuck, but it would be stupid if it were required when in UC it wasn't.


Posted by 
 on: 09/01/10, 19:47:36
@Pandareus
I do remember Extraction using the analogue stick, C and Z buttons.


Posted by 
 on: 09/01/10, 20:24:59
@Simbabbad
Quite sure. My friend and I actually played through the entirety of Umbrella Chronicles "beer in hand" as they say
If not using the nunchuck, you change weapons with the dpad, but it's clunkier because you have to cycle through them with left or right.


Posted by 
 on: 09/01/10, 20:26:59
Well, got the game (had to buy it used, boo), played through the first level, seemes like a competent light-gun game at the very least. Exploding heads is more satisfying than it was in Umbrella Chronicles. They sure nailed the Grindhouse presentation, though it hasn't yet shocked me (i.e. entertained me) as much as I thought it would yet. To be fair, the whole vagina thing was spoiled to me and it's harder to be shocked when you have an idea what to expect,


Posted by 
 on: 09/03/10, 16:23:10
Really? I started laughing when they were like (first scene of the game) "His identity ... a mystery". "You gonna tell me what that fuckin G stands for?"

"....No."


Posted by 
 on: 09/03/10, 16:51:03
Made me smile, I admit. So did the scene before the boss with the editing mistakes (glasses off/on/off again). It's cute stuff, but I think at my age (read: when you're as jaded as I am) maybe I'm past finding this stuff laugh-out-loud funny.


Posted by 
 on: 09/03/10, 16:59:25
It's twelve dollars on Amazon. This thread just convinced me to buy it. Thanks!


Posted by 
 on: 09/03/10, 17:34:08
Awesome review for an awesome game!

I bought this bad boy back when it first came out.


Posted by 
 on: 09/03/10, 18:07:23
Bought this for $15 earlier this year and LOVED it. Awesome, awesome game.


Posted by 
 on: 09/03/10, 19:06:00
Browse    1  2