A Nintendo community
for the fans, by the fans!
 Go to forum index
LostWinds (Nintendo WiiWare) Review
LostWinds on the Wii
Review by 
8.29/10 from 31 user ratings
 
So I wanted to take a little time out to talk about my absolute favorite games on WiiWare, and some of my top overall Wii games to date. This is Lost Winds and Lost Winds: Winter of the Melodias. I would make separate reviews for each one, but I truly feel any Wii owner should get both these games, since the second is a direct sequel which starts off right at the end of the first game, keeps you all the powers you earned throughout it, and adds much more on top of it, where both abilities and puzzle-solving/gameplay mechanics are concerned. It's a common complaint amongst gamers to say these games are short. But, if you buy both, you're getting at least six hours of pure side-scrolling bliss for twenty bucks.


Think about this for a second. Why are you a Wii owner? Maybe it's because you're a Nintendo fanboy, maybe it's because you like the idea of the Wii Remote. But you definitely did not buy the Wii for cutting-edge graphics. You bought it for fun, inventive games that could not be done in any other console thanks to the Wii Remote. The LostWinds games are exactly that.

These are beautiful side-scrolling games with 3D graphics where you control the main character Toku with the Nunchuck. By himself, Toku can't do jack. He can walk from side to side and climb little ledges. That's it. But with the help of the wind spirit Enril (also known as your Wiimote pointer) he can jump, dash, create vortexes, tornados, and much more. But see, the beauty lies in how non-mechanic the game is. It doesn't feel like "you make Toku jump with the IR". It feels like you're thrusting a huge gust of air up his rectum, so obviously he's gonna catch some air. You want him to walk faster to the right? Give him a good thrust of wind from left to right. You can even mess around with the environment, making leaves, windmills and even people move in the direction you thrust your wind to.


You need to forget you're playing a game. You need to think "okay, I can control the wind, what can I do?". And this comes into play in the (very satisfying) puzzle solving element of the game. Need to lift a rock? Well, do the same thing you did with Toku, shove some wind up its ass. And if you need it to keep going higher, keep using your wind in any direction you please. Add to that the ability to create paths of wind for fire, water and even Toku himself later on, and the game becomes amazing fun. Of course the concept is great, but without some inventive gameplay and puzzles for you to solve it would be nothing. Thankfully, both games have plenty of that, and you'll need to use your wind abilities to the fullest, in ways you might have never thought of, but will need to figure out for yourself.


I would go on about all the new features and wind powers the second game adds, such as the ability to change seasons, but it really doesn't matter, as these games need to be thought as one single package. Hell, developer Frontier might as well have put an "Episode 1" at the end of the first game. If you haven't played them, what the hell man, go ahead and give them a chance. If you've played the first one and liked it, think about it this way: you're missing half of the experience. If you didn't like the first game, well, not much I can do there, but I'm not sure what kind of games you enjoy on your Wii.

URL to share this content (right click and copy link)
      
Posted: 07/04/10, 17:02:21    
 
Why not sign up for a (free) account and create your own content?
 
Two reviews in one? That's cheating!

I still haven't played Winter of the Melodias, I should really get on that. I liked the first game.


Posted by 
 on: 07/04/10, 19:02:25
The real cheat would be to buy one of these games but not the other, my friend.


Posted by 
 on: 07/04/10, 21:22:25
@GelatinousEncore
I haven't gotten around to the sequel yet, does it improve the formula much?


Posted by 
 on: 07/04/10, 21:30:21
Sure does. New wind powers, the whole change the seasons thing, which adds new puzzles involving freezing water and stuff, not to mention those music-based rocks also used for puzzles. It's got more to it.


Posted by 
 on: 07/04/10, 22:04:58
So you can't buy this game on Wii U, which makes it pretty much inaccessible to me since my Wii is PAL (and would I really want to buy something that I could never transfer over, anyway?) Too bad because I had the $10 in Wii points that were left over earmarked for this game. If they never get this game over to Wii U it'll truly be a difficult game to play.

I think I'm gonna go ahead and download the WAD for my homebrewed Wii.


Posted by 
 on: 03/14/13, 21:05:03
Really depressing to me that Frontier seems to have stopped working on Part 3 of this series.


Posted by 
 on: 03/14/13, 22:55:07
I need to finish the original...but I can't since I moved all of my purchases to Wii U.


Posted by 
 on: 03/14/13, 23:00:41
@Jargon You could do the illegal download now and buy it if / when it becomes available. I mean, if you're worried about not legitimately buying it or something. I think that is my plan for Earthbound at this point.


Posted by 
 on: 03/14/13, 23:03:17
So I played this and I really liked the music and the art style, but boy was it short and the gameplay didn't really go very far. If I'd paid $10 I probably wouldn't have been too happy about. I did miss a couple of those collectible statues or whatever. Does collecting them all do anything?

LostWinds 2 is available on Wii U, right? Is it longer?


Posted by 
 on: 04/18/13, 18:52:15
Nah I believe it is about the same length. Maybe slightly longer... a half hour or so?

It's better though.


Posted by 
 on: 04/18/13, 19:45:26
@Zero

How does LostWinds 2 compare in content to Icarian? I have 1000 Wii points to spend and I think I've narrowed it down to those two games.


Posted by 
 on: 04/18/13, 19:52:09
Hmm... Icarian is Nyxquest? Honestly, I can't remember. If I were at home I could check the time I spent with each. I vaguely think that Nyxquest was about the same length but I could be wrong on that.


Posted by 
 on: 04/18/13, 19:57:15
@Zero

Oh yea, sorry, NyxQuest. It released when I was in Europe and it was called Icarian over there.


Posted by 
 on: 04/18/13, 20:08:57
Wasn't sure where to post this, so I'm posting it here!

Seems that we're finally able to transfer LostWinds from Wii to Wii U! I actually thought they'd given up on this, but it's sweet that they didn't!


Posted by 
 on: 04/26/14, 21:29:04
I was JUST about to post this.

I just got done doing the transfer. It works! And those who didn't have it on Wii can now purchase it on their Wii U in Wii mode.


Posted by 
 on: 04/26/14, 21:30:46
@Guillaume
I might actually do the transfer now, but it would actually feel kind of sad not having a use for my Wii anymore. Well, apart from playing GCN games with component cables.


Posted by 
 on: 04/26/14, 21:32:23
My Wii's disc drive was very noisy so I'm not too upset I'm not using it.

I also hacked it and played some of those NSMB level packs on it, so that was cool.

And another upside of the transfer is that the aspect ratio is corrected when you're playing a VC game in Wii mode on the Wii U.


Posted by 
 on: 04/26/14, 21:35:06
@Guillaume
The aspect ratio thing is very welcome for sure.
I guess I might transfer and then use the old Wii as an import player by use of homebrew. Fatal Frame IV for the next Shocktoberfest would be sweeeeeeet.


Posted by 
 on: 04/26/14, 21:36:52  - Edited by 
 on: 04/26/14, 21:37:32
Well this is a blast from the past.

Does anyone else remember how they talked like this was going to be a 5 game series!? Where are the other 3?!!!!? I'm not being totally serious here, I know that 5 games was very, very optimistic.

With that said the sequel was like... really awesome. Apparently it didn't sell nearly as well as the original, which makes me sad. It's a huge step up. It deserved better.

This also reminds me that I got partially through and then totally forgot about getting rid of watermarked images in all of our old content. Bah.


Posted by 
 on: 04/26/14, 21:42:06  - Edited by 
 on: 04/26/14, 21:43:13
@Zero

I stilll need to get the sequel. I've still got that 1000 points and everything.


Posted by 
 on: 04/26/14, 21:52:35
Browse    1  2